RSS

I am a granddaughter.

11 Jul
Lolo

Lolo Doling

How time flies. You will be 82 years old in September. Just the thought of that makes me want to catch my breath. Where was I when you were ten years younger?

Was I too busy with my work, with my family and with myself that I somehow forgot how utterly wonderful it is to sit on your lap and listen to your many stories?

When I was young, you told me that the sky was only 12 feet high until it got angry at people who tried to poke it with big wooden sticks. I still believe it. And I’m also going to tell my son that story until it becomes the truth. Hehehe.

I love you Lo. I wish I didn’t grow up so you wouldn’t grow old. I wish you’d forever be the forgetful yet brilliant mind that I’ve always looked up to. I wish time was a commodity with a price tag. But that’s not possible right?

Knowing that, I will be reserving a plane ticket so I could go home before the year ends. I am looking forward to that big smile on your face whenever I give your toes a nice pedicure.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2009 in Personal

 

Tags: , ,

20 responses to “I am a granddaughter.

  1. mizmean

    July 11, 2009 at 10:46 am

    ahwwww….ur one sweet apo..

     
  2. Nobe

    July 11, 2009 at 10:50 am

    @mizmean: haayy, i miss my lolo and lola so much. i wish they were here.

     
  3. livingstain

    July 11, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    ang sarap naman, matutuwa sya sayo nyan….

     
  4. Mars

    July 11, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    yan ang mga ulirang apo na alaga ng lolo

     
  5. Nobe

    July 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    @livingstain: matutusok na naman siya ng pusher kapag ako ang naglinis ng kuko niya. hahaha!

     
  6. Nobe

    July 11, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    @mars: sa kanya kasi ako lumaki mula nang maghiwalay ang mga magulang ko.🙂

     
  7. Mr. Nonsense

    July 12, 2009 at 7:26 am

    you’re lolo reminds me of my tatay

     
  8. Nobe

    July 12, 2009 at 8:40 am

    i bet your tatay is a great guy.🙂

     
  9. Mr. Nonsense

    July 12, 2009 at 9:41 am

    i enjoy the idea…i’m going to put u in my blogroll. have fun being a parent.

     
  10. Nobe

    July 12, 2009 at 9:50 am

    i do have fun being a parent. well, sometimes. hahaha!

     
  11. ever

    July 12, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    naalala ko tuloy si lolo ko.kalong kalong ako habang nagkukwento.hanggang sa makatulog ako sa balikat nya.

    nice one!

     
  12. Nobe

    July 13, 2009 at 8:48 am

    @ever: hay grabdparents, sometimes they are the most neglected people in our family. we should remember na sila ang may kasalanan kung bakit tayo narito sam undong ibabaw.

     
  13. anakngpating

    July 13, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    haha..naalala ko ang tatay ko pag nililinisan ko rin ng paa i mean ng kuko sa paa hehe..

    sweet mo parang ako lang hehe..

    berdey ni lola ko kahapon ayun..70 na sya..kaya bonggang simple ang celebration namen at sa bahay ginanap hehe..

    ayun..iba talaga pag close sa lolat lolo noh..

     
  14. Nobe

    July 14, 2009 at 8:59 am

    oo naman. hindi kasi nila tayo pinagagalitan. love all throughout lng basta lolo at lola. hahaha!

     
  15. blurosebluguy

    July 15, 2009 at 3:36 am

    buti ka pa may lolo……

     
  16. Nobe

    July 15, 2009 at 9:50 am

    huhuhu. i don’t want to think about the time na wala na akong lolo. it will kill me.😦😦😦

     
  17. fedhz

    July 18, 2009 at 1:07 am

    Aww.. sarap naman. I never had any memory of my grandparents. sabi nila, I used to sit on my grandfather’s lap (mother side). sa father side kase, maaga sila namatay. ayun. ang sweet naman. gusto ko rin ganyan ma-feel ng anak ko sa mga lola/lolo nya, kaso di pa sila close eh. aheks.

     
    • Nobe

      July 19, 2009 at 8:47 am

      hahaha. ako nga ayaw kong maging masyadong close sa mama ko si iago kasi nga spoiler mama ko. kaya ayan basta’t nandiyan siya grabe makapag-tantrums ang anak ko. lol

       
  18. madz

    July 20, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Wow! So thoughtful. That makes me miss my grandfather. Among his grandchildren, we (my siblings) were the closest to him.. I remember he always handed me ten pesos every payperiod (lolz).

    May God bless his soul.

     
    • Nobe

      July 20, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      wala kasa lolo ko! nagpapakatay ng manok tuwing magbabakasyon ako sa kanila. hahaha!

       

Leave a Reply

 
