RSS

I am iagosmom.

28 Jun
Mommy

Ah! The pressure!

I have recently changed my internet name from “iagosmom” to “iamnobe” because it gave me more space to breath.

I was still single when I started blogging. Freedom of expression was never a problem in those times because no one looked up to me like I was some kind of long-haired goddess.

When I got married and became a mom, I started to limit my language and my thoughts within a block of ice in order to please a certain demographic. I did not want to offend anybody nor did I want any other blogger to lecture me on “responsibility”. See how hard I’ve been on myself lately?

I love my son more than anything, but being “iagosmom” online just bored me to death. Motherhood changed me in a lot of ways–  even in my style of writing. (Ha! If pushing a 6.4 pound critter out of your vagina doesn’t change you, nothing else will.)

Moving on, I’m already tired of regularly stopping in my tracks to contemplate about all my blog entries and commentaries. Is it demure enough? Does it sound mother-like? Shall I tone it down a little bit?

Im no Superwoman.

I'm no Superwoman.

Case in point. I have been itching to talk about the latest of Hayden Kho sex videos for weeks now. I want to say this and this and that but I can’t because I am supposed to be blushing over these things and most importantly, I don’t want people to know that I’ve been watching those videos!

Then it suddenly dawned on me… motherhood does not define all of me. It is merely an extension of my crazy and opinionated self.

Is it possible that I took motherhood the wrong way? Instead of limiting me, it should actually give me some level of authority to talk about things like sex, love and rock n’ roll right?

(think think) As much as I want to elaborate on the matter, I’m already tired of listening to myself. So there…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2009 in Blogging, Internet

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “I am iagosmom.

  1. ceblogger

    June 28, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    be whatever you want, nobe. you are nobe and you are iago’s mom too. you can be a rockstar in your blog.

     
  2. badong

    June 29, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I totally agree with ceblogger. Be who you are. Besides, I think you’re a very cool mom.

     
  3. Nobe

    June 29, 2009 at 7:40 am

    @ceblogger and badong: you guys rock! sabi pa ni demi lovato. hahaha!

     
  4. elmot

    June 29, 2009 at 8:43 am

    our name tells us of who we are and what we want to become…well, it also applies to our blogging names and moniker.

    maski sino ka man, kumbaga, ahahah!

     
  5. Nobe

    June 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

    hehe. just rememberes a story about nuns having sexy monikers. hahaha!

     
  6. fedhz

    June 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    yup. this made me think think think too, hehe. I am also opinionated but I’m trying to keep it low. Dala lang din siguro ng politika sa ibang sites. takot ako ma-ban. haha!

     
  7. Nobe

    June 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    ako rin. naku! kung pwede ko lang sabihin lahat ng iniisip ko. ang saya siguro ng mundo. hahahha!

     
  8. T

    July 2, 2009 at 1:49 am

    nothing wrong there… yes, motherhood changes us… i got crazier over time hahaha! i just discovered a few bytes of sanity just recently and i’m loving it! here’s to being moms!!! cheers!

     
  9. Nobe

    July 2, 2009 at 9:43 am

    i got crazier and weirder over time too. let’s drink to that! hahaha!

     

Leave a Reply

 
